Everything You Need To Know About Cost Per Acquisition

Quick Navigation
Cost per acquisition is an important component of a business’s online advertising campaigns. This metric can help a company keep track of its content’s conversion rates and determine whether its marketing efforts are successful in drawing in new customers and increasing sales and brand recognition. There are several key factors that go into a quality cost per acquisition as well as a formula you should be familiar with when measuring this advertising metric.
Image via Unsplash by campaign_creators
Cost per acquisition is an essential metric that marketers use when determining how much new consumers are costing an organization. This metric measures the cost of a consumer clicking on a link, making a sale, or submitting a form. When an organization chooses to utilize a CPA model for online advertising, it is responsible for paying for every acquisition acquired from the advertising campaign.
Most advertising campaigns allow markets to set how they will define an acquisition and pay only when the definition is met. For example, a marketer may decide that a sale is how they will define an acquisition and will therefore pay only for each sale made through the campaign.
Cost per acquisition is one of the most important measuring tools a marketer can use to evaluate the cost of new customers. Understanding and regularly calculating CPA allows companies to determine if they should revise their advertising strategies to increase success conversion rates. Whereas a conversion rate is a metric used to determine success, CPA is a financial measurement utilized to decipher the overall revenue increase or decrease of a marketing campaign.
Another reason CPA is important is that it gives marketers the opportunity to control advertising costs that align with their specific advertising objectives. Keeping track of CPA ensures you’re spending your advertising dollars in the most efficient way to meet your goals.
The following are key factors that affect the quality of cost per acquisition:
Tracking is very important when it comes to cost per acquisition because the cost for each action is made on the basis that an action is taken. Common tracking methods used include:
Here is the formula you can use to calculate your cost per acquisition:
Total cost of advertising campaign / total number of customers acquired in the same time period = CPA
Example: A company spends $100 a month on Google ads and acquires 10 customers each month. The company’s cost per acquisition would be 100/10 = 10, so each customer they acquire through the Google advertising campaign is $10.
The following are several ways you can optimize your CPA and generate more conversions:
Regularly working to reduce your CPA can help increase your return on investment. Here are a few ways to reduce your cost per acquisition:
The more you work to improve your CPA, the better your conversion rates will be and the more revenue you’ll bring in.
Personas in Marketing
Intro to Marketing | 4 min read
How To Make a Survey
Intro to Marketing | 4 min read
What Is Demand Generation?
Intro to Marketing | 4 min read